Scholarship Application Process
Students should complete the following to-do list when applying for scholarships:
• Check Naviance scholarship site daily for new scholarship opportunities.
• Before filling out applications, make a working copy in order to “rough out” responses.
   Look over the entire application to determine what parts the student must complete.
• Obtain and keep one to two letters of recommendation available. (Scholarships often require
   a letter of recommendation). If asking someone for a letter of recommendation, make sure
   that you give them at least two weeks notice.
• Use information from Career Enrichment Classes to assist your completion of applications.
• Create a reference list of extra-curricula activities at BVT and in the community in which
   you have participated.
• Emphasize any leadership responsibilities that you may have had such as class officer or
   co-captain of a team.
• Keep a list handy of volunteer activities that you have participated in at BVT and in the
   community. Scholarship applications often look for commitment in these activities such as
   “Every week I volunteer two hours for my town library.”
• Complete all materials for scholarships neatly, accurately, and on time. Deadlines are
   important. Keep in mind that if a Transcript is needed with the application you need to
   request this from Guidance at least three business days before the deadline.
• Check places where you work, your own town high school Guidance Department, and
   any clubs or organizations where you belong for scholarship opportunities.
• Check and recheck the application for accuracy.
• Make a personal copy of your application. File for safe keeping.
• Make an appointment with your counselor if you have additional questions.
Have Scholarship Questions?
For more information on scholarship materials,
inquiries and opportunities, contact:
Ms. Eithne Smith
Scholarship Coordinator
508–529–7758  x2260
How Your School Counselor Can Help
• During Career Enrichment classes, each counselor will present information on:
• How to read the scholarship applications, (eligibility criteria, application requirements, deadlines)
• How to use the Naviance web site to view scholarship opportunities
• Time management for applying for multiple scholarships
• If a student has additional questions or needs further explanations, the counselor will be available for an individual appointment.
   (There are sign up sheets in the School Counseling Office.)
• If a student needs a letter of recommendation from his/her counselor, an individual appointment must be scheduled.
   (The counselor usually needs to ask some questions before writing the letter.) Please request these meetings at least 2 weeks
   prior to the application deadline date.
How Parents Can Help
• Discuss with your son/daughter your willingness to help complete applications.
• Review this scholarships section of our website with your son/daughter on a regular basis (at least once a week)
• Help your son/daughter organize scholarship applications by deadlines.
• Read the application with your son/daughter after it is complete. 
• Encourage your son/daughter to set up an appointment with his/her counselor to answer any questions that remain AFTER
   he/she has completed as much as he/she can.
• Keep copies of applications. (Sometimes different scholarships may ask for the same information).
• Check your place of employment, and any clubs or organizations where you belong, for additional scholarship opportunities.
• Check clubs and organizations of other family members (i.e. Grandparents, etc.) 
• Help your son/daughter manage the time that is necessary to complete the applications to avoid stress.